Seniors acknowledged for accomplishments at Senior Salute: Photo of the Day 6/1/19


Madeline Hull

Seniors were recognized for their achievements through high school.

by Madeline Hull and Emily Watson

On May 28, the class of 2019 was recognized for their achievements at the annual Senior Salute.

The graduation band set the mood with “Patriots on Parade” and “Pomp and Circumstance.” The band was then followed by Class of 2019 president Shay Arneson who welcomed to the audience.

Ryan McFadden and Ryan Mondonedo preformed “The Road Less Traveled” as the featured musical selection for the ceremony.

The first awards were from the academic departments. Seniors received awards for  family and consumer sciences, English, journalism, mathematics, the arts, sciences, social studies, and world language.

“In year 2006-2007, I was a kindergarten teacher at New Market Elementary. I’ve waited a long time for these children to come here. I had some of these students as 5 year olds. Nothing gives more more pleasure than to see them graduate from Linganore High School,” said Kate Lane, a teacher in family and consumer sciences.

The Senior Salute also featured community scholarships and awards. Some groups that gave scholarships include the American Legion Gold Star Post 191, The Community Foundation of Frederick County, Damascus American Legion Post 171, Frederick Community College, the Greater Mount Airy Chamber of Commerce, the Zaching Against Cancer Foundation, and the United States Marine Corps.

“Peace is easily desired, but often very problematically acquired,” said Principal Nancy Doll as she introduced the Peace Award given to Lily Weaver.

Physical education teacher Chris O’Connor was chosen by the seniors as the featured speaker.

“Before you look into the future, you must show gratitude to everyone who has helped you along the way,” said O’Connor.

Seniors were then recognized for their involvement in honor societies such as National Honor Society (NHS), Spanish Honor Society, National English Honor Society (NEHS), Mu Alpha Theta, French Honor Society, and National Art Society.

Nancy Doll gave out Principal Awards to Dominic Barbagallo, Sarah Buckley, Shelby Tkacik, Colleen Avila, Shay Arneson, and Lily Weaver. They were chosen for their accomplishments and dedication to their academics, extracurricular activities, and community service.

Congratulations to the Class of 2019!