Seniors recognized for their achievements at Senior Salute 2018


Courtesy of Kelsey Ward

Students are recognized for their achievements

by Ethan Hart, Editor

On May 30, seniors were recognized at the annual Senior Salute. As a class, the seniors selected Mr. Pat Greene to be the featured speaker.

The ceremony started with opening remarks from the Senior Class President Kenny McQuay. Throughout the night, awards were given out including Departmental, Principal, CTC, and scholarships. The night was packed full of students being recognized for all that they have done.

One of the highest awards given out was the Governor’s Merit Scholastic Award. This was given to the students who were the top 5% of the senior class. The following students received this award: Jeremy Carter, Christian Chestnut, Katie Constantine, Madelyn Cunningham, Jacki Dubro, Lars Eklund, Rozmia Fattah, Hannah Lemen, Joseph Kolick, Thomas Moyer, Carolyn Payne, Sofia Schuller, Jordan Specht, Rosalia Tilmont, Alexander Tran, Joshua Watson, Anneliese Young, and Richard Zhang.

The following students were recognized for departmental awards:

Agriculture: Emily Lindsey

Business: Jacob Zudal

Project Lead the Way: Sarah Hall

Woodworking: Jarod Golombieski

English: Thomas Moyer and Kelsey Ward

Family and Consumer Science: Kaitlyn Naill

Mathematics: Josh Watson and Anna Young

Dance: Kelsey Ward

Drama: Christian Howard

Instrumental Music: Alexandria Hudson

Vocal Music: Alyssa Chiarelli

Physical Education: Nick Albano and Olivia Weinel

Biology: Anna Young

Chemistry: Thomas Moyer

Environmental Science: Rosalia Tilmont

Physics: Josh Watson

Social Studies: Sofia Schuller and Hayley Cook

Special Achievement: Christian Howard and Abby Frey

Mentor/Internship: Dawson Hewatt

Work Study: Anthony Deal

Apprenticeship Certification: Dalyn Palmer, Ty Pucino, and Jenna Thompson

Visual Arts: Rachel Moravansky and Shannon McGoey

French: Sofia Schuller

Spanish: Hannah Lemen

German: Shannon McGoey

World Languages: Hannah Lemen and Sofia Schuller

Ms. Nancy Doll presented the Principal’s Leadership Award to four students who she believed have contributed to the community through public service and effort. The recipients were Devin Barge, Christian Howard, Thomas Moyer, and Josh Watson.

The Career and Technology Center recognized seniors who had completed programs at CTC. These graduates would be leaving high school with an outstanding skill already. The students were as followed:

Metals/Welding: Mark Chaney

Academy of Health Professions: Kaitlyn DeGrange and Lindsey Thomas

Advanced Web Design & Animation: Nathaniel Lang

Digital Design and Printing Methods: Delaney Krotz

Cisco/Security Plus: Daniel Roberson and Patrick Stalnaker

Auto body/Collision Repair & Refinishing: Ryan Appleby

Automotive Technology: Jonathan Connelly

Autobody/Collision Repair: Tyler Loveless, William Lowe,  and Bradley Wentz

Criminal Justice: Trey Perry, Rebecca Temple, and Brandon Champagne

Culinary Arts: Erica Houck

Plumbing/ HVAC: James Wolfe and Tyler Ludwig

Carpentry: Adem Ferah and Brad Garlowich

Cosmetology: Madison Stone

Students were also recognized for special awards and scholarships that they had applied for throughout the school year.

Diana Scarmazzi Football scholarship Fund: Zach Willett

American Legion Gold Star Post 191: Lynn Edminston and Andrew Nash

Kemptown Elementary school PTA Scholarship: Kelsey Ward

Greater Mount Airy Chamber of Commerce: Jack Dubro

LHS Athletic Boosters: Cailyn Bartholow and Thomas Moyer

Damascus American Legion Post 171: Cailyn Bartholow, Thomas Moyer, and Clayton Yingling

Fordham Lee Memorial Fund Scholarship: Jordan Specht

Delta Sigma Beta: Clayton Yingling

Frederick Community College Scholarship: Madison France, Rebecca Temple, and Lucar Arrington

ROTC Scholarship: Paul Hinch

The Community Foundation: Cailyn Bartholow, Jordan Cencula, Mark Chaney, Madison France, Emily Hartmark, Brenna Lindsay, Jonathan Massey, Shannon McGoey, Andrew Nash, Carolyn Payne, Katherine Querry, Madison Riley, Jordan Specht, and Lily Tate

Libertytown/Unionville Lions Club: Tommy Moyer and Jordan Specht

LOUYAA Scholarship: Cailyn Bartholow

Comcast Leaders and Achievers: Sophia Posada

Marine Corps Award: Joseph Kolick, Lars Eklund, and Richard Zhang

Mount Pleasant Ruritan: Clayton Yingling

New Market Lions Club: Jonathan Massey

Student Peace Awards: Devin Barge

Science National Honor Society: Cailyn Barthlow and Tommy Moyer

National Art Honor Society: Shannon McGoey and Rachel Moravanksy

Sons of the American Revolution: Jack DuBro

Mr. Jeremy Brown also recognized all of the students who were in any honor society.

Linganore has many students that are going to a military academy, including Patrick Conboy, Abigail Grabill, Kyle Guinn, Zachary Lindung, India Pack, Casey Parsons, David Soper, Cody Souder, Benjamin Trogolo, and Ryan Winkler.

Congrats Class of 2018!