Distinguished Graduate assembly honors six high achievers


Natalie Rebeksty

Distinguished Graduate Showcase on Main Street created by Amy Safsten

by Lily Johnson and Sydney Rossman, Reporters

The Distinguished Graduate ceremony is a way to honor those who have graduated from Linganore High School and have risen to success. The ceremony will be on Tuesday, November 25th in the auditorium. The six alumni recipients  are: Barbara Nash, Adam Plesniak, Michael Tully, Ryan Green, Crystal Thompson, and Tom Rinker.

 During the ceremony, the honorees will speak to incoming freshmen about how the graduates’ time at Linganore inspired them to achieve. There are six award categories: Academics, Athletics, Arts and Humanities, Sciences, Public Service, and Business.

 The Academic award will be given to Barbara Nash, Class of 1963. She is the long-time principal of Waverly Elementary School in Frederick County.

 The Sciences award will be given to Adam Plesniak, Class of 2001. He is currently Vice President of Engineering at Arzon Solar LLC.

 The Arts/Humanities award will be given to Michael Tully, Class of 1992. Tully is a film director, script writer and actor.  His most recent film, Ping Pong Summer, was shot in Ocean City, Maryland. He blogs at Hammer to Nail, a website about film and filmmakers.

 The Business award will be given to Tom Rinker.  He and his wife are the owners of The Bicycle Escape in Frederick.  His enthusiasm about cycling has helped to promote events throughout the area.

Ryan Green, Class of 1997 will receive the Athletic award. He is the Catoctin High School wrestling coach and  the Founder and Head  coach for Mason-Dixon Mat Hawgs in Thurmont. Last year, The Frederick News Post  named him  County Wrestling Coach of the Year and his Cougars captured the county title.

The Public Service award will be given to Crystal Thompson, Class of 1997. She is a Special Programs Manager for the US Department of State and the Madagascar Program Manager for Madecasse LLC, a company that produces chocolate made in Africa.  Thompson has recently been working as a translator.


Linganore High School and Frederick County Public Schools do not endorse the content of advertisements displayed on this website. More about these ads.

A select group of  freshmen students will be introducing the honorees.  Logan Briedenstein will be introducing Barbara Nash; Jeremy Carter will be introducing Adam Plesniak; Kayla Davis will be introducing Michael Tully; Jack DuBro will introduce Tom Rinker;  Andrew Nash will be introducing Ryan Green. Dena Barnes will be introducing Crystal Thompson.  Other Class of 2018 speakers include Sam LaPilusa, Madison Riley,  Mallory Safsten and Jack Wastic.

After ceremony each graduate will visit  third period classes to talk with students who share the same interests or career goals.   Before they head out with their new plaque they will enjoy a nice lunch provided by A.K.A Frisco’s.

 Anyone can nominate a distinguished graduate.  The nomination window for 2015 is open now.  Honorees are selected in June 2015.  To learn more about the DGO, see past recipients.

The showcase on Main Street features all six awardees.  It was designed by senior Amy Safsten for her SSL project.  Mrs. Kay Horr, Mrs. Pam Knight, and Mrs. Natalie Rebetsky assisted Safsten.