National Honor Society welcomes 58 new members


Cailyn Barthlow

NHS members, officers, and advisers before the induction

by Tommy Moyer, Reporter

The National Honor Society held their induction ceremony on October 30 at 7:00 PM. Fifty-eight juniors and seniors were inducted into the society.

The National Honor Society is composed of members selected not only for excellent academics, but also outstanding scholarship, leadership, service, and character.

Mr Darren Hornbeck was the guest speaker at the ceremony. In his speech, he talked about how the initiates should be proud of their maturity at such a young age. He talked about importance of the National Honor Society’s message of performing kindness and service.   In the words of Willy Wonka from Charlie and the Chocolate factory, “So shines a good deed in such a weary world.”

The induction was run by the NHS advisers, Mrs Durann Ecalono and Mr. Scott Stair, and the NHS officers.  Principal Nancy Doll was also on the stage. The NHS officers are:

  • President- Joel Tate
  • Vice President- Jordan Cencula
  • Secretary- Hannah Lemen
  • Treasurer- Tommy Moyer
  • Historian- Lily Tate
  • Service Coordinator- Sarah Hall
  • Service Coordinator- Kelsey Ward

The junior inductees:

Nadia Appiah,Shay Arneson,Colleen Avila,Rachel Biddinger,Connor Boie,Claudia Bremer,Beau Cameron,Alec Deyaert,Presley Dougherty,Amanda Drake,Alexis Duda,Caroline Etherton,Samantha Everett,Rachel Freeman,Olivia Gagne,Kaley Henyon,Olivia Hiltke,Shane Johnson,Erika Katsumoto,Reilly Kidwell,Courtney Larrick,Eleanor Miley,Jane Quackenbush,Emily Reed,Benjamin Rose,Fiona Rowan,Savannah Sitler,Hudson Smith,Shelby Tkacik,Paige Wilhelm,Emily Wolfe

The senior inductees:

Lucas Arrington,Spencer Askine,Haley Barge,Cailyn Barthlow,Logan Breidenstein,Samantha Buntman,Alyssa Chiarelli,Erin Doyle,Rozmia Fattah,Joseph Hall,Hannah Haught, Alexandria Hudson,Ani James,Emily Lindsey,Shannon Loughrey,Nicholas Pauley,Katherine Querry,Daniel Roberson,Mallory Safsten,Paul Servary,Mary Taylor,Rebecca Temple,Alexander Tran,Samantha Volo,Jack Watsic,Anneliese Young,Ashley Yurich

Any senior NHS members should be sure to look at the NHS scholarship.